top of page


Last Saturday, Seabrook Reserve buzzed with excitement as a supportive crowd of hundreds gathered for the much-anticipated clash between representatives from the Metro and Goulburn Murray competitions respectively.


Adding to the excitement and in the build up to the City vs Country matches, the day also celebrated Wheelchair Rugby League with a pop up activation and Round 4 of Masters’.


Wheelchair Rugby League showcased skill from all participants involved and the Masters’ games brought together our veteran players, proving that passion for rugby league transcends age and time.


The action kicked off with an impressive Women’s League Tag match, setting the tone for the rest of the day.


City Captain Jemma Collins made a powerful statement by scoring the opening try in the first eight minutes and started a scoring streak for her side.


The City team continued to dominate, with Dayna Stevens scoring a hat-trick during the clash and ultimately defeating Country with an impressive 20-0 victory.


In a fiercely contested Men’s Tackle match, the Country team emerged victorious with a commanding 28-12 win over City.


Offensive strength by Country was showcased with tries from Anitelea Lafai, Uluak Taufa, Brent Falefitu, Penjopu Tunumafono, Ben Scott and Domenic Marzano.


Dylan Hellier was outstanding for City; scoring tries at both the 38th and 70th minute but despite their resilience it was not enough to defeat Country.


In the end, City emerged as the overall winner (which was determined by scoring aggregate across both matches), clinching the title by scoring a decisive try in the final 30 seconds, with the aggregate score being 32-28.


Dayna Stevens from City, was named Player of the Match in the Women’s League Tag, and Ben Scott from Country, was named player of the Match in the Men’s Tackle.

The trophy will be kept as a testament to their hard-fought victory until they meet again.


Special mention goes out to the Country team for their travel and dedication, as well as the coaching staff who prepared both sides for the intense competition, as well as acknowledging the work of volunteers Newy Patiole, Daniel Webb, Georgia Seton, Emma Martin, Jason Warr, Lynne Simpson, William Sila and Kat Ngan-Woo for their behind-the-scenes efforts and thank you to everyone who came down and supported the community!


Photo Credit - John Leonard.


Article written by Emily Mattocks.




147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page