top of page

NRL Victoria is responsible for administering the game of rugby league in Victoria. Victoria is an Affiliated State of the overall Australian governing body the National Rugby League (NRL).


The 1914 Great Britain Lions tour of Australia and New Zealand included a match in Melbourne, the first rugby league game to be played in the state. The match between England and New South Wales drew 13,000 spectators.

The then Victorian Rugby League (VRL), which was so named until 2013 (when rebranded as NRL Victoria), commenced in 1952 and has been running each year since; RAAF Ballarat were the inaugural premiers in that season.

NRL Victoria oversees the Melbourne Metropolitan Competition, Sunraysia Rugby League and affiliates who participate in the Limestone Coast Competition and the Murray Cup.

bottom of page